Tuesday, October 13, 2009

Snow Leopard Eats Data

Mac users with a Guest Account activated in an earlier OS version find when they upgrade to the new Snow Leopard OS and login under the Guest Account, it deletes their entire user profile! Apparently, customers have been complaining about this bug for months now, yet Apple was slow to respond; Apple says the bug "occurs only in extremely rare cases." The first complaints go back to about a month after the new Snow Leopard OS was released.

Apple says it is working on a fix. Meanwhile, users who saved their account preferences online (using services such as Apple's Time Machine) can reload their profiles... Sadly, everyone else is SOL.

© C Harris Lynn, 2009

No comments: